Holiday Spirit

I can’t get enough of Christmas this year. I did a watercolor to hang in our powder room. Here is a quick look at the process. I’ll start with a finished detail. I like this area enough I might just cut it down!

20121222-095940.jpg

I start with a sketch. I used Arches Watercolor Paper and Set A of Dr. Ph Martin’s Concentrated Watercolors (which I’m still trying to figure out how to handle) and Windsor & Newton Watercolors. 20121222-095526.jpg20121222-095849.jpg

If I were to do this one over, then I would tighten the composition and use softer tones of color. Sometimes its really tempting to zing the heck out of a holiday scene. Restraint is always the best rule of good design.

Leave a Reply

